prologue from Forget Me Not

Forget Me Not is my newest work in progress. It’s a Harvest Moon fanfiction. I’m mostly just having fun with it, so you don’t have to like it or anything, but I’m going to share with you the prologue!

Forget Me Not: Prologue

Today was the day.

My mother decided randomly a few weeks ago that she was going to ship me off to some place called Forget-Me-Not Valley for the summer, where I would be staying with her best friend from college, Vesta. I didn’t even know who Vesta was, and I most certainly have never heard of this stupid valley, either.

Thus, I questioned why my mother was doing this to me.

“I think it will be a good experience for you. Country life is different from city life, very different. You might even find yourself enjoying it, after a while,” she reasoned. I scoffed.

“A good experience?! But mom! All of my friends are here, and Forget-Me-Not Valley just sounds so lame. Please don’t make me go!” I begged and begged, but no matter how annoying I was, she refused to give in to my pleas.

“You can make new friends, there. Vesta has a son who is a couple of years older than you… Maybe you two will… get along, yes?” She giggled after her suggestion, while I rolled my eyes at her not-so-subtle exclamation.

“Right, because I’m totally into hillbilly boys who are constantly covered in dirt.”

“Caroline Roxanne! You don’t even know what you’re talking about. So quit it with the attitude. You’re going to Forget-Me-Not Valley whether you like it or not!”

“But—, ”

“No. You’re going and that’s final.”

Leave a comment